Health Risk Assessment | HITECH CSF Compliant | Health Literacy

Security, Privacy, and Compliance


Our family of WellSuite® IV products are compliant with the latest privacy requirements of the Health Insurance Portability & Accountability Act (HIPAA), including the HITECH amendments, and the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act (GINA). We also adhere to country-specific certifications and requirements as needed.

CMS Framework for HRAs

Our WellSuite® IV HRA for Medicare adheres to the definition specified by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) in CFR410.15. The CMS framework outlined 37 elements for patient-centered HRA for the Medicare population, such as psychosocial and behavioral risks, prevention compliance, and ADLs.

Download CMS Requirements for Health Risk Assessments.

National CLAS Standards

Our WellSuite® IV products and health education tools adhere to the National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS). Recognizing health literacy as a public health issue, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) developed a national action plan to improve health literacy. The plan outlines large-scale goals for creating health literacy in the U.S. The Office of Minority, HHS developed National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS). CLAS standards are intended to advance health equity, improve quality and help eliminate healthcare disparities by providing a blueprint for individuals and healthcare organizations to implement culturally and linguistically appropriate services.

See other Health Standards for Wellsource Products.

Health Literacy

Low literacy is associated with poor health outcomes. CMS encourages accommodating individuals with low literacy skills. The Plain Writing Act of 2010 outlined guidelines for increasing readability and understandability. Each state in the U.S. sets its own literacy standards. Forty-five states and the District of Columbia have instituted grade-level minimums for health information and education materials being consumed by its Medicaid population. These grade levels range from third grade in Arkansas up to eighth grade in North Carolina. Additionally, literacy may decease due to the aging process. Our assessments for Medicaid and for Medicare and complementary self-management tools are written at an engaging fourth grade reading level.

Download our health literacy guide.